Thursday, February 18, 2016

2016 Prince Edward Island Heritage Awards

   The following article appeared on the Guardian Newspaper today by Doug Gallant...
     Geoffrey Paton of Charlottetown receives a Heritage Award from Lt.-Gov. Frank Lewis for research on Geoffrey's ancestor, Samuel Cunard.

     It was a night to shine the spotlight on significant contributions to Island heritage, as the P.E.I. Museum and Heritage Foundation handed out its annual awards Tuesday.
     The ceremony, held at Eptek Art and Culture Centre in Summerside, kicks off Heritage Week on Prince Edward Island.
     Among the night’s winners were Wayne and Janice Trowsdale, who received the Volunteer of the Year Award for their work with the Bideford Parsonage Museum in Ellerslie.
     Wayne said he was surprised to even be nominated for an award, but noted it was a welcome honour. He and Janice led a campaign to save the home, which is now the museum, from being moved out of the community, and, along with many other volunteers, have given a lot of time to its upkeep.
     “It’s a labour of love for us. We’ve put a lot of hours into it … It’s kind of our baby, I guess,” said Wayne.
     “We’re very honourd to be recognized. We’d continue to do it if we weren’t recognized, but it’s certainly nice. We appreciate that very much.”
     Earle Lockerby of Sanford, Ont., and Doug Sobey of Bedeque were recognized for their collaboration on the book, “Samuel Holland, His Work and Legacy on Prince Edward Island,” which was named the foundation’s publication of the year.
     The Port Hill Women's Institute in Tyne Valley was awarded the Mary Cornfoot Brehaut Award, which recognizes an outstanding example of merging community history with genealogy.
     Other Prince County winners were Peggy Hammill and Marlene Campbell, both from the Bedeque area, who received a heritage award for their book, “More Than I Expected: The Story of Peggy McIver Hammill”, and the Knutsford Women's Institute for work in creating community history panels to enhance its programming.
      Handing out the awards was P.E.I.’s Lt.-Gov. Frank Lewis.
      Also, during the evening, Culture Minister Doug Currie presented plaques designating five buildings as heritage properties in the province.

HL: And the winners are:
- Sterling Stratton, Charlottetown - Irene Rogers Award recognizing long-time work in promotion of architectural awareness on P.E.I.
- Roy Campbell and Robert Gelineau, Vancouver, B.C., for preservation of the Nathanial -Wright House, Bedeque.
- Gretha Rose for preservation of the Bourke House, Charlottetown.
- SilverOrange for preservation of 84 Fitzroy St., Charlottetown.
- Geoff Hussey for the book, “Charlie of Île Saint Jean”.
- Reg Porter, Belle River, and Richard Campanaro, Charlottetown, for creating a guidebook and research manual for Government House.
- Geoffrey Paton, Charlottetown, for researching and interpreting the life and work of Samuel Cunard.
- The Roman Catholic Diocese of Charlottetown for work restoring and enhancing the 1843-1883 cemetery in Charlottetown.
- Victoria Historical Association for work celebrating Victoria’s heritage.
- Karen Mair, “MainStreet,” CBC Radio  Wendell Boyle Award for promoting and supporting heritage on P.E.I.
- Reg "Dutch" Thompson - Award of Honour for outstanding contributions in the field of heritage on P.E.I.
Robert Harding, Summerville - Natural Heritage Activity Award.